Skip to main content

Adult learners celebrate success at annual Access to Higher Education Awards

NSCG Stafford College celebrated the success of it's adult learners studying Access to Higher Education Diplomas at it's annual awards event to celebrate their outstanding achievements.

Students and staff came together on Wednesday 7 June to celebrate their success and achievements during their intensive year-long course.

A number of awards were made to recognise the outstanding achievements across the Access to HE pathways.

Taking the important leap back into the world of education in September, the cohort of motivated and dedicated adult learners were congratulated on their strong worth ethic, their determination to study and succeed, and for how they have developed as individuals. Having now completed their Access to HE Diplomas, the learners are now eagerly awaiting their results in July, all hoping to progress to university in September to help them to achieve their dream careers in the near future.


Our Stafford award winners and categories are as follows:

  • Excellence in Biology Award - Holly Buckley
  • Excellence in Health Studies Award - Shreya Rai
  • Excellence in Historical Studies Award - Mikkie-Mae Foulds
  • Excellence in Literature & Language Award - Grace Denny
  • Excellence in Psychology (Humanities) Award - Maisie Deaville
  • Excellence in Psychology (Health) Award - Kirsty Simmons
  • Most Supportive Peer (Health) Award - Sony Gurung
  • Supportive Peer (Humanities) Award - Mikke-Mae Foulds
  • Star of the Year (Humanities) Award - Lorna Winnington
  • Star of the Year (Health) Award - Lina Muy

Our Newcastle award winners and categories are as follows:

  • Excellence in Biology Award - Felix Reji Kunnasseril
  • Commitment and Achievement in Health Studies Award - Anjali Paija
  • Outstanding Contribution to Psychology Award - Dave Halket
  • Outstanding Performance in Biology Award - Maddie Lowe
  • Commitment & Achievement in Health Studies Award - Hannah Ayriss
  • Excellence in Psychology Award - Paige Cliffe & Louise Gascoigne
  • Excellence in Sociology Award - Georgina Swift
  • Commitment to Related Studies Award - Rebecca Lawson
  • Participation and Engagement in Related Studies Award - Kelly Baker
  • Personal Development & Progress within Psychology Award - Ellie Baldwin
  • Shining Star 2023 Award - Carrie Hassall
  • Access to HE Student of the Year Award - Tammy Luto-Amison

Commenting on the awards, Anthony Walton, Curriculum Manager for Access to Higher Education and Adult Education said: "Our annual Access to HE Awards are a fantastic opportunity for us to come together as a department to celebrate the dedication and commitment of our inspirational adult learners. The last year has seen them all grow with confidence, and we are bursting with pride to be part of their journey into Higher Education. The whole team would like to wish each learner every success for the future."

To find about more about studying an Access to HE Diploma at Stafford College, visit